The Regional Post-graduate training school of Integrated Land planning and Management in tropical Forests and Territories (eraift) is a unesco Category 2 Centre established under a regional governing body. From its inception in 1999 until 2016, school activities were coordinated by unesco. At unesco's 38th session during its 197th General Conference held at Paris in October 2015, eraift was confirmed as a Category 2 Centre placed under unesco's aegis. The school's novelty lies in its teaching approach: a systemic approach, which is cross-sector and multidisciplinary, hence global and integrated. These are eraift's underlying teaching concepts by design.

The school provides post-graduate quality training (Master's and PhD degrees) for learners having completed three, four or five years of studies at a university level on various topics. eraift's mission is to train high level African decision makers following a systemic approach, so they can:

o    Design, state in detail and implement sustainable development projects;

o    Make decisions when faced with complex situations, which are characteristic of development issues;

o    Provide adapted solutions on issues of poverty and environmental degradation.

Learners at eraift come from a wide range of professional backgrounds sharing a wealth of complementing experiences. They also come from many Central and West African countries, the Indian Ocean or further afield—Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, The Central African Republic, Chad, The Comoro Islands, The Democratic Republic of Congo, The Republic of Congo, Gabon, Guinea, Haiti, The Ivory Coast, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Togo …etc.

Today, the school is opening up to Anglophone Africa.


Its faculty comes from a variety of universities and research centres—the Musée Royal d’Afrique Centrale (mrac), the Université Nationale du Bénin (Cotonou), the Université de Dschang (Cameroon), the Université de Kinshasa (drc), the Université Catholique au Congo (drc), the Université de Marne la Vallée (France), the Université de Liège (Ulg Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech, Belgium) the Faculté Notre Dame de la Paix de Namur (Belgium), the cnrs (France) …etc.

Download the announcement